diy solar

diy solar

Beginner's Challenge

BCSailing

Hi All,

I am trying to secure correct advice on sizing the Smart Blue MPPT Controllers for my boat-mounted solar charging system.
I have tried to do my due diligence in reading here and many other sources about the proper sizing of controllers for my PV Panels but I am coming up with different advice on how to go about sizing the controller from suppliers, videos and much of the materials I have studied.

This is my first build and I have tried to be very careful in learning all I can about sizing, mounting and wiring specifically for my energy needs and the Marine Environment.

My system is set up using 6-6V Trojan T-105, Flooded, Deep-Cycle GC Batteries (215ahrs Each) wired in Series Parallel to produce 645 ahrs of energy. A careful energy audit onboard has verified my needs for approx. 850 ahrs/24 hr. day while on passage. This aforementioned is my house bank and is the only batteries I will use the solar for. Engine Start is facilitated by an isolated, if-need-be 12vdc Start battery, charged by the auxiliary engine's alternator.

Being a newbie to the craft, I originally planned this, my first build in stages. I have recently completed a rack that will be as free from shading as possible and that will enable mounting of 3 Panels.
The next stage is the mounting of the first two panels which will be 210W each. The following stage will see the addition of another 2 panels (210W) each, along the side rails at the stern.
I would like to go ahead now and purchase 2 MPPT controllers. Each Controller is to service 2- 210W Panels Each. (2 Starboard and 2 Port) total of 4. It is my wish to wire each side (2 panels X 210W = 420W total) in parallel to their own controller to help minimize any shading that might occur.
The last stage of the build will add an additional 380W panel on the rack above and it will live on it's own controller, to be added later.