diy solar

diy solar

Best budget battery for a parallel 24 volt trolling motor

chueyher

I have a 24 volt trolling motor set up and I'm wondering what the best budget battery would be. I'm checking out the powerurus 12v 100ah battery and not sure if it's meant to be used as a trolling motor battery nor to be set up as a 24 volt system. This is my first time ever using a lifepo4 battery for a trolling motor.

What are you using as a source for the Powerurus Batteries?
Just go to Amazon and search for 24v LifePo4 battery. There many to choose from under $700
Be advised waterproof marine batteries are much more in any size

Take a look at your trolling motor power draw specs at max load and how long you plan to run it to make sure that you can get home.

Modern trolling motors can pull 60 amps vs 10 amps in the past. Not every battery pack can deliver continuously at that rate, in fact many 24 volt batteries cannot.

One way to reduce issues is to look at a battery rating "max continuous discharge rating" and plan to use it at 50% or less or that when at the max draw of your motor + other loads such as the fish finder and lights.

The trolling motor connectors of the past often cannot keep up either, so that might be a factor in your upgrade.

A couple points in this thread are a bit suspect...

1) 24V LiFePO4s are generally not a good buy in today's market IMO. Almost all the 12V budget buys can be wired in more than 2S so 24V is easy w/ 12V QTY 2 and almost always cheaper for reasons i don't understand. You'd think buying in bulk would be cheaper, but I guess because 1 beefy BMS is more than 2X the price of 2 smaller BMSes, it makes sense to go smaller and wire in series to save a buck.