diy solar

diy solar

Best, good, don't waste your money BMS

theoldwizard1

I am new to this whole LiFePO4 energy storage "game" ! I have a formal training as a EE, but that was many, MANY years ago, so I understand the "theory" but not the "practical" !

Without having to read through the dozens (hundreds) of posts here, is there any consensus on what is the "best bang for the buck" 12V and 24V BMS on the market ? How about "good" and why are they not the "best" ?

I don't think you will find a consensus. Much depends on how you are using the battery, what the environment is going to be, how much current, How much balance capacity do you need, what kind of communication capability do you want ...etc, etc.

There are 2 general classifications. There are the ones that internally switch the current with mosfets and there are those that switch external relays for the charge and load control. It's not a one size fits all kinda thing and is the hardest decision I had to make when setting up my pack.

DALY has finally stepped up and corrected allot of their issues -- so I would put many of their BMS's in the BETTER(+) category ...

Chargery is in the BEST category

Dracus (sp) is in the BEST ...

I have all three operational at this time on several systems ... all 3 do what they need to do ... Chargery and Dracus though give you the ability to do ANYTHING you want to do ... literally ... My Chargery turns on the coffee pot, lights, and starts a small A/C 30 minutes before I normally get to one of our monitoring sites ...

" Chargery is in the BEST category "

But the Chargery relies on relays (traditional or SSR) which is fine in some situations, not ideal in others.
Quite Correct Bolo !
Sadly mosFET based BMS' are pretty much capping around 200/250A and of course they cannot be driven to the edge of their specs and held there for any period of time as they have to be derated for long term survival.