diy solar

diy solar

Best Outdoor Rated Hybrid Inverter?

Cduck28z

Tldr;
I'm looking for a NEMA3/IP65 or greater rated hybrid inverter, mounted outside to work with the EG4 LiFePower4 batteries. I do not want to backfeed the grid but still have the ability to use the grid as a backup if my batteries run dry and the sun isn't shining.

Good afternoon,
I'm new to the solar community but with the increasing energy prices in South Texas, and the crazy heat were experiencing, I'm hoping to offload some of my grid dependency. My electricity contract recently expired ($0.11/kWh) and my wife talked me into a 'free nights' plan because I like to sleep in the cold. It's great in the evenings but it runs $0.23/kWh between 0800-2000 daily.

My thought is to purchase 2 48v LiFePower4 batteries and charge them at night, discharge during the day. When they run out of energy, the hybrid inverter should pull the remaining energy from the grid. As a bonus, any solar I can install can augment my power consumption during the hottest parts of the day.

I have a critical load panel installed next to my main breaker panel both located outside on the side of my house. The critical load panel already has my home AC (4ton central air) and about half the rooms to my house hooked up for a generator backup due to the severe hurricanes we receive. I would love to hook up a hybrid inverter to this load panel with it disconnected from my main panel all together. With a soft start modification to my ac unit (Hyper Sure SS1B08-16SN), I believe it will be possible to run the entire subpanel, including my central air, off a single 7-12kW inverter . The most frustrating part is finding an inverter that is rated for outdoor use that is also compatible with many of the 48v batteries coming to the market, namely EG-4 LiFePower4 because of their build quality and price per kWh.