diy solar

diy solar

Best scalable entry for DIY Solar for a home

RiverMonster

TLDR; Ready to purchase as a beginner (parts or a kit), but want scaleable parts or kits with the maximum amount of reusable parts that can go into a larger system as I learn and gain skill. Specifically, 1-2 initial PV panel purchases, charging controller, inverter, battery, cables, etc. Enough to go "wow, I can do this", get hooked, and then really dump some cash overzealously into the endeavor.

=========================

I'm sure that this has been asked many times, I scanned the FAQ but didn't see it immediately and am hoping it's just a very short quick answer from the experienced people kind enough to browse.

I have the dream of ultimately powering my home completely via solar (at least during the summer, in IL here), but I'm also a complete beginner. Currently, I am looking to invest in a beginner system and slowly acquire the skills needed while putting regular money into my system to upgrade it over time.

The mistake I'm trying to avoid is wasting money on a tiny system that has little to no parts that can be integrated into a larger system as I grow in confidence and skill. I see many kits and am competent enough to put many of them together without any issue (many lifetimes ago I took a bunch of physics classes, some digital electronics, etc... but have forgotten 95-99% of it) but I know that ultimately a 100, 200, 400-watt kit isn't going to be anything close to the end goal.

We use at least 55 kWh per day and have spiked as high as 65kWh per day. And yeah, it's a long story with multiple work-from-home offices and a stupid amount of electronics running all the time. #lol #facepalm But I'm not looking to put in that 10,000-watt system right now, just learning the basics and establishing my skills and confidence.