diy solar

diy solar

Best way to run to Water pumps for a pond?

Alber

Please help, have not found any threads on this as yet and I am new to solar
I have purchased 2 x 275 Canadian Solar panels and are looking to make my water pumps work directly from the panels.
I have 2 x Water Pumps:

Specifications:
RD-DC 12V is a submersible pump with stainless steel casing

Voltage:12V
Power:120W
Caliber:25mm(1")
Capacity:26.4US.GPM
Max Lift: 5-7M
Main applications: Water
Cable Length: 2.5M

and 2 x Canadian275w Solar panels.
Specs:
Pmax - 275w
Vmp - 31.3 V
imp - 8.80 A
Voc - 38.3 V
Isc - 9.31 A

Please what do I need to get these water pumps working from these panels. The Panels will be south facing.
I will not be having batteries as its only for day time pumping. ( for my fish pond).
What size controller would I need and should i be parallel or series?
Can I wire both pumps together or best separate with 1 panel for each

Thank you in advance for all your help and support.

Last edited:
The cheapest and simplest way is to wire the two pumps in series and your two panels in parallel and then connect them directly. That will bring the load demand voltage of the pumps to 24V and keep your solar panel system's voltage in the ~31.3V ~38V operating range minimizing the discrepancy between pump operating voltage and the voltage that your panels supply. The concern I have with this method is the longevity of your pumps. You'd be running them above their recommended operating voltage by a small enough margin that immediate catastrophic failure is very unlikely and they're submersible so the risk of fire is negligible, but they will run at increased temperature and the overheat is likely to decrease your pumps' lifespans.