diy solar

diy solar

Bi Facial output

gray webber

I am a newbie to this so I can easily be bashed but I wanted to share what I found out today.
I had ordered 4- 445 watt panels for AltE. Bi Facial because I am in a cold snowy area at about 47 degrees latitude.
I hooked up two panels today at my shop to my midnight solar classic 150 and a 24 volt 300 ah bank of lithium to do a test run.
The panels where tilted up against a garage door. It was cloudy and at first about 1 hour before solar noon I had started at about 500 watts.
The sun peaked out for about an hour and I checked at solar noon to see 1205 watts coming in and 44.2 amps out to batteries????? Now I am worried that my charge controller may not handle them???? I have 4 to hook up on site. It is cold today about 8F. Hope they do good but do not over power my controller/??? Anyone have experience to share on this type of situation?
Thanks!!!!!

Run the Midnite sizing tool on the Alte site. It says you are perfectly matched in a 2S2P configuration. You are at 70% loading, and even only 94% if you allow the 30% over production you saw with the Bi-facial panels. People over panel all the time, just don't exceed the max voltage (the tool will calculate it for you).

So what you are saying is the panels will exceed the charge controller power inputs?
Thought it was close but Adam at AltE felt the Midnight would handle them. He did not think the panel outputs would be that good?
I’ll have to get with him on an answer?????
Others with experience please share.
Thanks!

I’ll do that !
I sure hope it’s ok as it would be a mess to reboot design or parts now.
Thanks for your insight!!
Off to the Alt sight.

You can't even use 4 in parallel because the voltage would be too high.
4 in parallel would be the individual panel voltage. What is the Voc of each panel?

You can't use 2s 2p either.