diy solar

diy solar

bms questions

ElectricDanimal

I have a 48v inverter, charger, (mpp LV5048) but i have to use separate solar charge controllers at 24v. I will link 2 -24v LifePo4 batteries in series. (I have a maximum of 60vdc from my panels and they can not be used in series)
1. can i use 1-48v bms even tho the solar chargers are at 24v?
2a. is there any advantage to using 2- 24v bms on each battery ?
2b. what happens when the inverter charger tries to charge at 48v using the on board charger if the bms are 24v each?
3. can anyone help or recommend which bms to use? (i would like bluetooth compatible)
I am new at this and would appreciate any help.

1. Absolutely, positively a horrifying idea. Get 48V charge controller(s). You're asking for trouble. You WILL apply different input to two halves of the battery.

1. Absolutely, positively a horrifying idea. Get 48V charge controller(s). You're asking for trouble. You WILL apply different input to two halves of the battery.
thanks for your response.. unfortunately, I can not use a 48v charge controller. I only have 59v to play with and this will not give me much solar pv wattage because of the lack of voltage differential.. the panels can not be seriesed. for a higher voltage.

Are you running into the PV input limit on the MPP, ie you have high voltage panels, or is there another factor at work here? The 5048 has a PV input maximum of 145V.

"can't be used in series." Why? Do they not have wires that come out that could be cut and splice together?

You have three choices:

1. Do something that's a hardcore bad idea.
2. Adapt your components to work in a sensible manner.
3. Replace the components that aren't working for you.

Last edited:
"can't be used in series." Why? Do they not have wires that come out that could be cut and spliced together?

You have three choices:

@ElectricDanimal option #1 is to be avoided.
I'm gonna guess that you can make series strings.
Maybe even all your panels in one string.