diy solar

diy solar

BMS recommendation for 4S 280ah battery

Gockleyd

My initial plan was to go with the overkill solar BMS because of its simplicity and low temperature disconnect. However because of my 2000 watt inverter/charger it seems that the overkill solar does not have enough capacity. I considered putting two in parallel but I couldn't find anyone actually using a configuration like that just people theorizing. Any recommendations? I looked at the 200a smart daly but it seems kinda sketchy and the status of the low temperature disconnect seems questionable. This is my first build so I wasn't something simple and robust.

Which inverter/charger are you using?
If its the samlex exo there is a way around this.

I am planning to use this renogy https://www.renogy.com/2000w-12v-pu...ihBRjqTtj4nzXDrmuGWRqWxzKxzUOwu8aAnG4EALw_wcB
If it has its own low voltage disconnect I would be less worried but the temp sensor is only for temperature compensated charging of lead acid
By the weight of it I would guess its a low frequency inverter which is good.
I doubt that one has the modal remote switching capability I was looking for though.
I guess you need a beefier BMS.
Sorry I can't recommend one.

When l return home next week I'll test the low temp disconnect on my 200a Daly and see if it works ..... l know l had to change the setting via bt as it was on some random figure not relevant to earth lol ....something like -100 ? Can't remember
The high voltage disconnect works so far while l was charging in series , apart from that it seems fine so far , but its early days too.....
Mines in a caravan setup here in Australia so not too many days were it's gets that cold when we're on holidays and the van centrally heated anyway when it is cold outside

How had it been getting it set up? I'm a little nervous since the documentation it's a little unclear. If you can confirm you have low temp disconnect and what exact model it is that would be phenomenal