diy solar

diy solar

bms up in smoke

Oliver Luna

Hello Forum,

I am a beginner to solar power. Currently I am building an electrical system for a self build camper van.

It consists of 4x EVE lifepo4 280a from basen and a daly BMS 150a. I know the BMS is under powering the batteries. However, I wasn't planning on ever calling on that power either. This setup exists twice to be connected in parallel later on.

I assembled the first system and started it by pressing the Bluetooth button. Everything was wonderful.

When I tried to start the second system in exactly the same way by pushing the button, the BMS immediately started smoking heavily and liquid plastic dripped out.

I had only connected the BMS to the cells with balancer cables, nothing else. I later measured through all the cables and could see that everything was wired correctly.
All identical to the first set which is running great.

Does anyone have any ideas what I could have done wrong?

Thanks a lot!

I disconnected my batteries, BMS, and inverter a few weeks ago for some garage work. When I reconnected them, I plugged the BMS balance cable in (OverKill Solar type BMS) before connecting the BMS power cables to the battery. Using the Bluetooth app, I was seeing cells 1,2,& 3 were low, like next to zero volts. I almost panicked. I disconnected it and thought for a moment. I then connected the power cables and it worked correctly.

I felt lucky it didn't mess it up.

Thank you for your interest, MisterSandals!

I have already uninstalled the melted BMS. But here are pictures of the identical configuration. If you need closer shots, please let me know.

Attachments

• smoking bms2.jpg
    smoking bms2.jpg
    127.2 KB · Views: 126
  • smoking bms.jpg
    smoking bms.jpg
    454.7 KB · Views: 124
Last edited: