diy solar

diy solar

BMS vs Growatt 6000T Charger?

shot428

I have no experience with bms's and none with Li batteries, so this is new to me. After getting my new system hooked up I have a few questions ?

Initial batt charge was done with modified 10 amp charger (purchased with batt), when charging was done the meter was at 58.4 v. When I turned the charger off the meter changed to 56. At the time, I thought nothing of it but now I'm wondering if that 56v should be my float voltage?

I set the growatt float to 54 because it is what the battery guy said to do and I watched its first cycle yesterday. I used 2 led lights that kilowatt says pull 326 watts each (so totally balanced load) and the growatt said it was doin 661 watts. I ran this for 8 hours and then switched the AC in on, I set the growatt to a 10 amp charge and a few hours in I raised it to 20a, at 10 the fans come on bout every 10~15 min and runs for 2~5 min, at 20 the fans run continuously (nothing to do with my ?, just adding info on the 6000T for others).

As the batt got to 54v I expected to see the charge amps reduce (float) I admit I have no clue what float does which is why I was watching and nothing, just kept charging. But when it got to 56v the charge current dropped to .1a and I am assuming that .1a is float ?

Note: there is no communication between the batt and the growatt.

So does the bms override the inverter ? Or what am I missing? And finally should I change float to 56v ?

Thanks !

Last edited:
Float is a low current Constant Voltage stage. It generally is not good for Lithium batteries but a setting of 54 volts is below the charging voltage of 56 volts so that is just about resting voltage and should not hurt them since your battery guy recommended that voltage setting. Leave float at 54 volts like he recommended, The BMS is a safety device that also can balance your cells.