diy solar

diy solar

Bonding a service panel that is off grid

Pgh-skip

I'm installing a solar electric system in my off grid cabin. I plan on earth grounding the service panel with its own ground rod. My pv panels will have there own ground rod. My question is should the service panels neutrals and grounds be bonded, or should they be kept separate? Thank you in advance for any assistance in this matter.

I'm installing a solar electric system in my off grid cabin. I plan on earth grounding the service panel with its own ground rod. My pv panels will have there own ground rod. My question is should the service panels neutrals and grounds be bonded, or should they be kept separate? Thank you in advance for any assistance in this matter.
I'm not an expert and just regurgitating what I've learned here and elsewhere over the years.
I would think you want 1 N/G bond in your main service panel.
If you ever hook a generator up you need to pay attention / understand its N/G bonding requirements.
I would also only install 1 ground rod if feasible or bond your ground rods together.

Edit, wait for some experts to chime in with more.

You only want one N-G bond in the system (in the structure) and it should be as close to the power source as possible (keeps the two paths for neutral and ground separated for as long of distance as possible and joins them at closest point to power source).

Many inverters provide an N-G bond inside them only if/when they are turned on (inverting). They are usually switched open or closed by a relay, so if you put the inverter into bypass, and are receiving generator power on the AC input of the inverter, the N-G bond will break and open on the inverter, and then you would use an N-G bond point at the generator, you'd have the generator grounded to the grounding pole there as well, and confirm it is making an N-G bond there (not all generators are N-G bonded from factory), as it will then be the active power source.