diy solar

diy solar

Breaker Box wiring for MPP Solar LV2424

ChrisW123

Hi Everyone!

I'm a newb solar guy building my first portable solar generator using an MPP Solar LV2424 all-in-one inverter box, and two 12v 100ah batteries in series.

I have a couple questions though, maybe someone here can help or offer advice:

1) With this setup, is a breaker box required or good to use? Or does this all-in-one unit already have cover-current protection?

2) If it needs a breaker box, is my wiring diagram correct? Any changes or something not right?

Thanks in advance! -Chris.

1611165734306.png

One issue I see is a 10 awg neutral from inverter to breaker panel, carrying current for 20A + 30A = 50A total circuits.
(Of course, LV2424 might not deliver enough current to be a problem.)

Neutral and ground aren't shown as bonded together. In U.S., we bond them at one location.
A few inverters aren't compatible with that, however. But many are. Assuming this one is, the breaker panels I use have a green bonding screw to connect the box to neutral busbar, which gets both neutral and ground wires.

Using a breaker panel is good to have disconnects for multiple circuits. It lets you have 20A protection for a 20A circuit and also feed a 30A circuit. If you use 12 awg, good to have 20A breaker.

This box doesn't have a green bonding screw to connect the neutral bar to the panel. I can't find info in the MPP Solar manual on whether or not I need to bond neutral and ground in the box.

But tell me if this is correct (I'm a newb at this): Without using the breaker box, wouldn't my circuit wiring be connected (the ground and neutral wires) as being NOT bonded? So would mean the invertor box IS bonded? If that guess is correct, then it makes sense that I should NOT be bonding the ground and neutral in my breaker box. Just my guess, is it correct?