diy solar

diy solar

Building a CPAP battery backup

I am very new at this and would like someone to review my wiring diagram. I think this is what you were talking about. I believe the 200-watt solar panels are over kill but this is what I have. Please let me know if you would design this differently or am I missing something. Thank you. mike

Attachments

• CPAP WIring Diagram.gif
    CPAP WIring Diagram.gif
    84.1 KB · Views: 35
I am very new at this and would like someone to review my wiring diagram. I think this is what you were talking about. I believe the 200-watt solar panels are over kill but this is what I have. Please let me know if you would design this differently or am I missing something. Thank you. mike
The only thing I would suggest is to use a ring connector to the battery if you are connecting directly to battery.

What’s the V max on the panels? Divide that into the 200 watts to see max amps from panels and the 15 amp fuse should be 1.25x your max amps.

I think you could use a 20 amp solar controller with a 30 Amp fuse on the charger side (they are $20 on Amazon). If you stick with the 40 amp controller; put a 50 amp fuse where the 40 is.

Other than that it looks fine to me. mine 25 AH runs the CPAP for about 7 days without a charge and with humidifier off. 3 days with humidifier on.

25Ah x 12.8V = 320Wh
320Wh / 7 days = 45.7Wh/ day
45.7Wh / 8h nightly runtime? = 5.7W while running?

Less than 6 watts seems mighty low.
It’s 13.6 V nominal; so 360 WH (seems like I actually got a few more WH when I tested it; like closer to 380 WH) and I prolly only sleep 6 hours; so closer to 8.5-9 watts per hour; my pressure setting might be lower than others too; your mileage may vary …. But with humidifier off it has a pretty low draw on the kilowatt meter…with a 200 watt solar panel the battery will be fresh every night anyways; but I have run a week on it without a charge…