diy solar

diy solar

Building a new house -- What would you use?

Wow,
I am far from an expert on any of this, but I am 8 months in to building a house and this is what I did.

1900 ft upstairs 100% spray foamed
1100 walk out basement, ICF foundation

I wanted to power the whole house, grid tied. Indiana gives zip for selling power, so I skipped it.

Solark 15k runs one 200 amp panel
400 amp service
2nd 200 amp panel is mostly non essential 220 and a few random 110 circuits.

My electricians installed it all for 5-6 hours. Fully inspected and bought off

30 kWhr server rack

South and SW standing seam room will have 20 450 panels. I may add 8 more in a ground mount. I do not get sun until 10:30 in the summer. Winter will be shaded through leafless trees. Again I am no expert, but my experience is similar to yours. Fire away!!
Wow… That is a lot of SER cable. I’m more a fan of conduit, and wire way gutters.

Nice switchgear wiring layout.

Would that be 4/0 aluminum 3 conductor plus ground?
Must be a bear to bend into place. But nothing like pulling through conduit, and can be backed out of the box to leave just the length needed for connections. The fine strand we use for batteries is so much easier to handle.

I'm going to put a box/gutter after service disconnect breaker (with Polaris) and fan out to a couple sub panels + PV disconnect. One 200A panel, will feed 2/0 (or larger? Ampacity/temperature for terminals) copper through Polaris into service disconnect. Box with nipple or elbows to panels should be easier than just conduit.

Where your one wire splits to two in the box, all same gauge. Is there a single 200A breaker at the meter, providing disconnect and OCP for SolArk as well? (You mentioned 400A service, it just feed something else as well.)