diy solar

diy solar

Building a UPS for my home lab

windham

I am a complete newbie about building battery systems. I have a home lab on an equipment rack of all my home servers (network equipments/NAS) consuming about 400W. I also have a work computer system with 500W max during use. I want to build a LFP battery based UPS to power my entire system for at least an hour in case of any power outage.

I have been watching Will's videos. It occurs to me that something like a MPP Solar's 12V all-in-one system plus a stock battery (like the SOK battery or Battery Born) is a good combination for this purpose. Has anyone built a similar system? Is there any quirks and beginner traps that I need to watch out for?

Appreciate your response in advance!

You need about 900W of power, for one hour.
That's a fairly small amount. Presumably infrequent occurrence (at least for an entire hour's use.)
It could be satisfied with a single LA battery, either gel or AGM.
Ignoring Peukert effect, 100 Ah 12V would be drained 75% delivering 900 Wh.
A bit more than that for inverter inefficiency, and size it larger due to the 1C discharge rate.

You could build a DIY lithium battery for this, but a single AGM battery would be an off-the-shelf solution at moderate cost.

UPS - most have some transfer time, and most computer stuff will ride through. An "on-line" UPS is the way to have zero dropouts, if that matters.

Most computer loads have an ugly current draw, rectifying AC onto a capacitor so far from 1.0 PF. Whatever inverter has to be OK with that. Maybe a "modified sine wave" inverter would actually be better than pure sine wave in that case? I'm not sure.

Ignoring Peukert effect, 100 Ah 12V would be drained 75% delivering 900 Wh.
A bit more than that for inverter inefficiency, and size it larger due to the 1C discharge rate.
Thanks for the explanation. Most likely I don't need constant 900W, more likely ~700W or so, though I must watch out for the inverter efficiency for sure.