diy solar

diy solar

Bus bar or plug for DC fridge

Jonathan123

Hi all. I'm very new to solar and DC and am trying to get my head around understanding electricity generally. Today I have a specific question about how to wire my DC fridge. I'll have 8 awg wire coming from my fuse block for a run of just under 30' going to a Unique 10.3 cf DC fridge. Both have bare wires. Is the best way to connect these a cigarette lighter plug, SAE, bus bar, or other? Bus bar seems the simplest and would allow me to add some lights at the fridge. Any advice appreciated.

Last edited:
So you have a DC fuse block connected to your batteries (either directly or to bus bars)?

If that's the case then you should run wires from each DC load to that fuse block so that each DC load gets its own fuse.

Whether you use some sort of plug for the fridge depends on whether the installation is permanent or not.

The fridge averages 4.5 amps but Unique wants it on a 15 amp circuit. I'll run everything back to the fuse block and am only thinking of a very low draw led light nearby. The location of the fridge will be pretty much permanent. The bus bar occurred to me because it seemed easier and just as good - but I'm interested to hear why it might not be a good idea.

The fridge averages 4.5 amps but Unique wants it on a 15 amp circuit. I'll run everything back to the fuse block and am only thinking of a very low draw led light nearby. The location of the fridge will be pretty much permanent. The bus bar occurred to me because it seemed easier and just as good - but I'm interested to hear why it might not be a good idea.
No disadvantage I can think of other than it uses more space and is more difficult to disconnect. If you don’t need to disconnect often and have moderate space available it’s a great option

The bus bar occurred to me because it seemed easier and just as good - but I'm interested to hear why it might not be a good idea.