diy solar

diy solar

Camper Van Solar System Questions

DoctorBrucey

Hey everyone,

I'm quite new to this, so bear with me! Currently designing my solar system for my van, which will be two 100W Renogy panels and this DC to DC / MPPT Controller unit also from Renogy.

My idea was to wire them in series, but looking at the panels' VOC (24.3V) and the controller's Max. Solar Input Voltage (50V) I'm worried that wiring in series will leave me too close to the controller's max input voltage.

Would you recommend wiring in parallel instead? And if so, am I correct in saying that I won't need an in-line fuse? As the panels' Short Circuit Current is 5.21A, and Maximum Series Fuse Rating is 15A (so wiring in parallel would be 10.42A ISC which is < 15A)

Still trying to wrap my head around all of this, so would appreciate any help! Thank you.

Hey everyone,

I'm quite new to this, so bear with me! Currently designing my solar system for my van, which will be two 100W Renogy panels and this DC to DC / MPPT Controller unit also from Renogy.

My idea was to wire them in series, but looking at the panels' VOC (24.3V) and the controller's Max. Solar Input Voltage (50V) I'm worried that wiring in series will leave me too close to the controller's max input voltage.

Would you recommend wiring in parallel instead? And if so, am I correct in saying that I won't need an in-line fuse? As the panels' Short Circuit Current is 5.21A, and Maximum Series Fuse Rating is 15A (so wiring in parallel would be 10.42A ISC which is < 15A)

Still trying to wrap my head around all of this, so would appreciate any help! Thank you.
Looks correct.

Skip the renogy MPPT. I have 4 sitting on the junk shelf. Not because they failed, because the app is garbage and the MPPTs are weak.

Spend a little more for a solid victron with Bluetooth. Better and free app. Better voltage range and future expansion.

Looks correct.