diy solar

diy solar

Van - 12v, 14kwh lifepo4. Help needed for diagram review.

Also, considering my biggest load will be from my Victron charger/inverter Multiplus 12/3000/120-30
(12v 3000Va 120A charger)
1623502954861.png

1623502798669.png
and their recommendation for a 400A fuse, should I size each of my individual battery bank fuse at 100A ?

It’s generally acceptable to view ganged batteries as one battery. The charge controller feeds, direct loads, and inverter cables should be fused appropriately.
With the funny characteristics of electricity I think fusing between the batteries would become an ongoing regular expense.

Just as an aside, I also fitted a B2B (battery to battery charger) on my current motorhome which I've never done before. It's a Renogy 40A charger that connects from the vehicle battery to the battery bank switcher. I've also fitted a physical led switch which means I can start the vehicle, switch the Renogy ON and it will then put up to 40A as required per hour into whichever bank I want. I think the standard alternator on a 2006 Ducato is a 95A (which I can't presume would ever kick out that much) but I have measured the output from the Renogy and it does indeed put out 40A. If the banks ever needed a quick top-up a couple of hours driving would achieve this. This will be invaluable in autumn, winter and even spring when the solar just isn't enough to get a full charge back into my batteries. Lead acid batteries function much better (and longer) if you can keep them at maximum and not have them sitting around at 70% for days on end.

Hello :)

After a bit of progress on my electric diagram. I'm starting to build the structure for the batteries and the associated parts.

Before
The previous battery box was on left

Now

I'm trying to think of the best solution to house :
  • 4 packs of 4 cells (each cell weights 5.4kgs/12lbs) so a total of 87kgs/192lbs.
  • Multiplus converter/charger (Weight of 20kgs/45lbs)