diy solar

diy solar

Can I pre-charge before a top balance with my hybrid inverter?

I've got BMS cell high volt protect set at 3.6v (28.8v) and low at 2.8v (22.4v). My hybrid inverter is set to 28v bulk charge, 27v float and 24v low disconnect. Does that sound okay?
Yes that sounds good. Many people here on the forum go even a bit lower with bulk (3.45 per cell or even lower than that). I am pretty new in this game as well, but after reading the forum and watching tons of videos I lowered my bulk to 3.45 as well. Don't know if it makes a huge difference in the long run and life expectancy of the cells. Wrt the usable energy stored in the battery, it almost does not make a difference. Your settings sound ok, taking the recommended profiles on the forum into consideration.

I've got BMS cell high volt protect set at 3.6v (28.8v) and low at 2.8v (22.4v). My hybrid inverter is set to 28v bulk charge, 27v float and 24v low disconnect. Does that sound okay?
I found there was A little bit of art to finding the best bulk and float settings.

I ended up going with 3.475 per cell In bulk charge, for float, I ended upsetting it so that when my batteries were fully charged by noon, I slowly put the float setting up to where power in from the SCC equaled the loads in the house. For my Victron SCCs, float ended up being equal to the bulk charge mode. That way I did not go into the night with a battery pack at 80% once the sun set. I want to go into the night at 100 %.

When I had float set lower, I found that once my batteries were fully charged, I might turn on a 300 watt load, and the SCC would only put 100 watts back in the system. In my case once I was charged at noon, there were five or more hours left where I could get enough energy from the sun to cover the loads. Don’t want to start the night at a low SOC.