diy solar

diy solar

Can I set up 16 x 280Ah cells as a 12V system with a JK BMS

Marc_Bic

Hello DIY community,

as an absolute beginner, I apologize in advance if some of my questions are silly.

Introduction:

I am currently converting a camper van and the next step is the electricity setup. Based on the fact that most people recommend a 12V system for beginners and that my vans alternator is also 12V I was wanted to do a 12V battery setup.

Question / Problem:

My problem: Based on my research, I could not find a BMS that can monitor every of my 16 cells in a 4s4p setup.
Question: Is there a way I can set up my components so that my BMS can monitor every single cell in a 12 V setup? If not what are my Alternatives?

My goal:
Having a battery setup that can be efficiently charged by my vans alternator and my 800w solar system. In case there is another solution that does not involve a 12V setup, how do I power my components that need 12V (like my diesel heater, LED lights etc.)?

My components:

Battery cells: 16 x EVE 3.2v lifepo4 280 Ah
BMS: JK B2A24S20P 200A Active Balancing 2 A
Step-Up Boost: DC 400W 15A
Solar Panels: 2 x 400w Vitovolt 300 M400 WG blackframe
Charge control: Renogy 60A MPPT
Vans Alternator: Mitsubishi 12V 220A A003TV0281ZE
Battery casing: Aluminum casing that fit 16 cells in line (with 300kg compression springs)

Short answer: NO. Here's why. As noted a BMS can't monitor individual cells if you parallel them, and you will be limited by the BMS current rating (200A in your case). Best bet (staying with 12V) would be to build 4 batteries, each with their own BMS. You will be able to monitor each of your cells and draw a heap (800A) current (don't try, wires would be huge).

Each 280AH battery cell weighs 5.6kg/12.3Lbs.
16 cells = 89.6Kg/197.5 Lbs
Just so you think about how heavy that will be and how you are going to have to manage that.

TacomaJoe's response is 100% correct.