diy solar

diy solar

Can LifePO4(Zooms) battery be damaged from floating at 57.5V?

Riley

For the USE2 setting from Growatt to solve a charging issue, they bound floating and bulk to the same voltage. I found if I set my bulk charge voltage at 54V, it stops charging after 54V and will not come back until it drops to 52.3V, and the voltage would drop to 53V in a few minutes after charging is stopped. Which means I can't top up the last 10% of the battery.

What if I set them to 58V and limit the charging amp to 2A to make it float at somewhere around 57V until sunsit? Would that be bad for the battery?

I'm not an expert here but LiFePO4 doesn't really benefit from a "float" (or even have such) as does Lead Acid tech.

As far as I know leaving the cells at higher charge levels reduces their capacity over time. Instead its better to keep them lower. However this (again as far as I know) results in cells being "out of balance" and there being problems with ensuring that when charging the BMS can actually fully charge each cell without 'over charge' of one cell bundle triggering BMS declare charging is over.

So for maximum longevity of the cells (as far as I know) you want to keep them at about 80% capacity and not take them really deep into discharge.

Yes, that would be bad for longevity.

There is very little useable capacity that high in the charge curve.

It turns out I can't hold it to 54V even I am floating it at 57V...
every time after sunset, it just drops to 53.1 to 53.3V right away.

See if charging to 56 and float 55 still drops to the same ~53.2
I think you are virtually full.

3.43v cell voltage for LFP is the magic voltage. Any float voltage below this will have zero cell current (well maybe very small cell leakage current).