diy solar

diy solar

Can you suggest a good setup for a 12v and 48v DIY battery off alibaba/eBay?

MarinerBlue

Hello everyone,

I have a C&C 30 sailboat that currently has a gasoline engine that I will be converting to electric in 2021. I have no experience with batteries, solar panels, and electric motors, so I am trying to do this in a gradual way and spread out my learning along the way. I have decided that the first step for me will be to build my own battery and replace the current battery on the boat with 12v LiFePO4. Are there any good samaritans on this board who can suggest an economical set up if components off of Alibaba or eBay? I could go for 50 to 100 Ah for this component. If I could reuse the same parts for a 48v 300ah battery during the next step, that would be a plus. The boat is located in Canada, so cold-weather protection would be a plus. Thanks!

Attachments

• 4C46A7D7-A721-4252-B63F-54EF6A1C82D2.jpeg
    4C46A7D7-A721-4252-B63F-54EF6A1C82D2.jpeg
    80.9 KB · Views: 1
Hello everyone,

I have a C&C 30 sailboat that currently has a gasoline engine that I will be converting to electric in 2021. I have no experience with batteries, solar panels, and electric motors, so I am trying to do this in a gradual way and spread out my learning along the way. I have decided that the first step for me will be to build my own battery and replace the current battery on the boat with 12v LiFePO4. Are there any good samaritans on this board who can suggest an economical set up if components off of Alibaba or eBay? I could go for 50 to 100 Ah for this component. If I could reuse the same parts for a 48v 300ah battery during the next step, that would be a plus. The boat is located in Canada, so cold-weather protection would be a plus. Thanks!