diy solar

diy solar

Car/Motorcycle lithium batteries on solar system

Edas

Hi everyone,

I'm really a beginner in this forum and in Solar subjects.
I'm about to buy and install my first solar kit, but I would like to buy different batteries like for motorcycles or cars, since they are a lot more cheaper than the ones sold by solar companies. I have a couple of questions that I would like to have your advice/comments:

1. Is there any problem to connect a lithium motorcycle battery (LiFePo4,12,8V, 20Ah/256Wh) like the one below instead of the lithum batteries usually sold by Solar companies?
1614015877656.png

2. Should I have anything else in consideration when buying LiOn batteries like BMS (battery management system)? What happens if I don't have a battery with BMS?

3. I'm about to buy and install the system in the picture below. This inverter is prepared to connect lithium batteries, but I don't know exactly where should I install them. I marked in red in the diagram, is it correct? If so, should I use any protection (fuses, for eg.)? Where?

1614045847055.png
I would really appreciate your help.
Thanks in advance.

What does.
Solar panels 4x450Kw mean?
How many panels?
Panels are measured with Watts.
How big are the panels?

What is the price of that 20Ah motorcycle battery?
Sales link?

The battery connects to the battery terminals on your Inverter.

Vehicle starting batteries will fail quickly if you deep cycle them.
But if used in a PV system which only powers loads while the sun is providing enough power, the batteries would give the surge needed to start a motor like an air conditioner.

As Forbisher said, battery has to go to battery terminal of the inverter. Reason is, direct connect to PV panels would drive voltage too high and rupture the batteries, venting their electrolyte. We always use a charge controller which must have its parameters set to match the battery.