diy solar

diy solar

Charging a Renogy Hybrid GEL with 30a/12v power supply

geekdw

Hi, I am new to the forum, and I'm also pretty new to solar and electricity in general, so go easy on me! A lot of this stuff is new to me and still confusing. So here's my question...

I'm building a Renogy solar charging station. 100w panel, 30a charge controller, 100ah Hybrid GEL battery, and 1000w inverter, all from Renogy. I think I've pretty much got all that in order, but I was wondering if I could use a 30a/12v power supply to charge the Hybrid GEL battery?

I've got the power supply, but I don't want to try charging the battery with it before I check with the community to make sure it will be okay to do that. If so, can I just clamp some 10awg wire to the battery from the power supply? Or do I need something in between them? I've seen Will put a fuse box in between power supplies and batteries, but it hasn't been to a GEL battery, and my particular power supply is 30a (that's the max charge current of the battery), and the power supply has over-voltage and over-current protection, and "surge protected outputs". So I'm assuming I can just run the power supply DC connection to the battery directly, but again I am new to this stuff.

Edit: Or should I run the cable from the power supply into the charge controller in the same ports that the solar panels go in?

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.

If you direct connect to the battery, you'll need to set it to the battery's float voltage (13.8V), and you'll only get a max of 138W of power for charging.

If you connect to the SCC PV input @ 30V/10A, you can charge at 300W.

Thank you for the quick answer! So it sounds like it will be ok to direct connect the power supply to the battery, I was just scared to do that. Would I need to get a different power supply to be able to do the 2nd option you mentioned at 300W? The power supply I have is 30A and 12V, and output voltage is adjustable 15%.