diy solar

diy solar

Charging Bluetti AC200 by car alternator

Janhuyb

Hi , I am new to this topic and read about the AC200. If I am correct you can also charge via the 12v car output. Any idea how long it takes to recharge the AC200 in this way? Any ideas how to optimise this? Want to install in a Toyota Landcruiser.

Hi , I am new to this topic and read about the AC200. If I am correct you can also charge via the 12v car output. Any idea how long it takes to recharge the AC200 in this way? Any ideas how to optimise this? Want to install in a Toyota Landcruiser.
You can't buy an AC200 right now.
Bluetti ran out of LG NMA batteries so they switched to LFP and increased the battery from 1700wh to 2000wh but also added to the 52 5lb weight.
I think about 70lbs for the new LFP but not sure as I lost interest with the $2000? price.

The time for 12V charging is on their website.
Wire a pure sine wave inverter to your car battery then use the large 120V power brick to fast charge.

I only need to power a 44 quart 12V fridge right now so I sold both of my AC200s.
100Ah LFP battery ran my fridge in 70° days and 40s overnight for 8 days with no charging on a recent trip.
Only 6.7 watts per hour!
Hotter summer temps will probably be about 5 days run time.

When you tell the AC200 that you are charging from a 12V car battery, it will only pull 8.2 Amps, which translates to 100 Watts, which means it would take about 17 hours to charge its 1700 Wh lithium battery - and you'd better keep your motor running or you will kill the vehicle's battery.

The good news here, is that at only 8.2A, you won't be blowing any 10A or 15A fuses that are typically behind the 12V accessory jacks within your vehicle.