diy solar

diy solar

Charging/discharging LFP question

Bigreddogs

I'm charging my LFP 12V 170Ah battery with a Victron Blue Smart IP-22 charger on custom setting of Bulk @ 14.6V - constant current at 30A - absorption @ 13.8V with variable current down to 0A - Float @ 13.6V charger shows no current flowing into the battery.

The report at the end of charging shows the battery received 176.3Ah over a 6 hour 4 minute time frame

I connect the battery to a 25A load - voltage drops down from 13.8V to 12.8V and operates at that voltage for about 3 hours before voltage starts to drop off. (that seems like a large drop in the initial voltage to me but I'm new to LifePo4 chemistry)

I discharge the battery down to 10V - that's resting Voltage (shunt shows 9.5V working and based on prior tries I know the BMS will shut the battery down at 9.3V working voltage)

Shunt reads that the battery has provided 95.6Ah at 25amps over 4 hour period - so based on the math and the 2nd shunt on my inverter I believe that to be accurate
(keep in mind that as the voltage drops off the amperage load varies from 25amps down to around 23amps)

I recharge the battery as above and it again accepts 176.3Ah as before...that is 80.7Ah more than was discharged

My inverter is rated at 94% efficiency and my bus is 20 years old so I know I'm going to have some additional loss and I assumed that figuring 10% to 15% total would cover that - so 170Ah rated battery minus 15% for inefficiency should provide 145Ah - operation shows 95.6Ah provided so that still leaves me around 49Ah missing.

What am I missing here...possible that there is more than 15% inefficiency in the system...or a battery that is under performing. How could I test this to find out which is causing my loss. And is a drop of 1V under a load common? I assumed the battery would operate a 13.6V for a bit then drop and operate at 13.4V for a bit then drop again...and so forth. Not go from 13.8V down to 12.8V immediately.