diy solar

diy solar

Charging LiFePO to 80%/discharge to 20% settings question

TotalKool

Hello everyone. I've looked over several posts and charts on this forum, but I am very new to solar and don't want to damage my batteries. Sorry in advance if I am requesting something already discussed.
I hope to verify these settings to make sure I am charging my LiFePo batteries to 80% and discharging to 20% for extended battery life. This is a backup system I am putting in after our "Snowvid" episode in Texas last year.

I have two SOK 12v 206ah batteries that I top balanced, wired in series (24v inverter). I have a Victron BMV-712 Smart monitor and a Victron MTTP 150/60 solar charger / currently a four panel array of 200w 12v 10a wired in series (soon to add another four of the same series, then in parallel).
Settings in question:
Charger settings, absorption 26.6v ? Float 26.5v?
Monitor settings, charged voltage 26.6v / discharge floor 20% / Tail current 4% / Peukent Exponent 1.05 / Charge efficiency factor 99% / Current threshold 0.10A

Thanks in advance,
Brett

First, you're being paranoid. Quality cells last thousands of cycles if you keep them in the published limits, typically 2.5-3.65V/cell.

Period.

Now with that said, charging to 80% based on voltage is almost impossible except as determined for your own system. Furthermore, charging to a lower peak SoC at a lower voltage means you are going to take a LONG time to hit that point if you try to set a lower absorption voltage - might not get there in a whole day of charging.

If you truly want to be able to hit 80% in a meaningful way:

Fully charge your battery
Sync BMV to 100%
Discharge your battery to below 60-70%
Under good solar conditions, charge your battery and note the voltage AND current at which your battery hits 80%.

This is the absorption voltage and tail current for the MPPT.
You then set the BMV to 0.2V below the MPPT and the tail current a little higher.