diy solar

diy solar

Charging my LiFePo4 battery - stationary & on the road - options?

burnie

Noob here. I have a relatively new, OEM truck camper with 180W rooftop solar (plus 120W additional portable solar) and a Victron 15/75 MPPT controller. I added a 200Ah Lossigy LiFePO4 battery (LOVE IT!). I'm looking for a solution to charge the battery when solar is not available or ineffective (winter, snowy conditions, low sun angle, long storage, etc.). The use case is primarily winter camping for extended periods away from civilization. I need a fast-charge solution that allows me to fully recharge the 200Ah battery in 6-8 hours of leaving the truck plugged in somewhere at a coffee shop / gym / Maverick's while I'm working, in between stints deep in the mountains. AND/OR a fast-charge solution that takes full advantage of my truck's dual-alternator, dual-starter-battery setup and draws high current while driving.

The issue is that the camper OEM never intended there to be a Lithium battery as far as a I can tell. It has a "power center" that takes AC shore-power and makes it available both in the camper over AC outlets (Some WFCO unit), and converts it to 12V to charge the battery. The built-in "battery charger" is designed for led acid/agm with suboptimal charge profile and a 15A limit. My (custom added) Victron SmartShunt shows that the battery never gets more than 150-180W charge power from this when plugged into shower power, and most of the time sits at 80W charge power. This is annoyingly slow.