diy solar

diy solar

Cheap batteries

I just watched it the other day :p The 300 ah battery seemed pretty cheap at $1299 I would like to see Will do a review on them. And to be honest im not advanced enough to build my own yet. I am very new to solar.

I ran across these batteries and was shocked at the cheap price but couldn't tell you if they are good batteries or not since i am very new to solar exploration and batteries. Lithium Iron Phosphate Deep Cycle Batteries | Chvrge LLC
Not inexpensive by any means. The market seems to be sitting at about $300-350/kwh for of the shelf ready to use lifepo batteries, but six months ago the market was at $150-200/kwh. I think the price will come down soon, but I am not holding my breath.

its amazing how all-in-one units such as MPP Solar PIP and GroWatt are now online + prebuilt batteries have come down 'some'. But you can still save A TON on large scale powerwalls if you have the time to build you're own.

The 81kwh 18650 second hand cells battery portion of my solar system to date (over last 3 years) has been aprox $165/kwh - this includes Batrium BMS / 84 longmons, all solder, wire, holders, lugs, shelves, tools (soldering irons, heat sensors, OPUS testers, etc, etc) and US Fed Tax rebate.

Its a little higher because all my 2nd hand cells were higher level from Battery Hookup ebike and modem cells, Power2Spare medical packs, and Battery Clearing House RING pack type of thing as apposed to junk/old laptop packs.

Oldest battery of 14s120p is now at 1,034 daily cycles with 40% yearly average DOD - and still going strong as far as I can tell :)

Last edited:
@OffGridInTheCity With prismatic LiFePO4 cells you can get to the same price point with less time investment compared to 18650 cells. I would say the availability of these cells opened up the DIY powerwall stuff to a lot more people.