diy solar

diy solar

Chest Freezer System Advice

Rejfoxtrot

Super newbie here, i'd appreciate in advise you can give me. So i've been wanting to put a chest freezer in an outside shed for awhile now and while it would probably be easier just to have an electric company trench a line and hook it up to the grid i've always been interested in solar. So with a $100 gift card going towards a purchase I bought 4 x 100w polycrystalline panels from Rich Solar on Amazon.

They arrived yesterday and to my surprise I was staring at 4 boxes with two panels each. Checked my order and I didn't over order, they just sent me more twice the amount of panels. I was planning on purchasing a 40amp MPPT controller in the near future, but now i'm unsure if it is too small for 800w. To add to that, I'm not sure that I can safely series link 8 of these particular panels together, which was my original plan with 4 panels. The back of the panels say max system voltage 1000VDC. So max would be 10 panels???

So for batteries I have one free 12v 105 amp hour AGM battery that's about a year old with minimum use. Planning on purchasing another 12v 105 amp hour and make a 24v battery bank.

Stupid question time.....I'll get the same kwh using a 24v that I would using a 12v system right? I've heard that if you parallel connect you double your "capacity" @12v. But if I run the same load off a 24v bank it'll be the same capacity as a parallel connected bank because i'll run 24v at lower amps?

I'm currently load testing my current 21cu ft chest freezer with a kilowatt meter it's a 25 year old freezer. Most likely it will pull too many amps for my bank without adding on. I'm debating on buying 3 more batteries or just a smaller more efficient chest freezer to go outside once I know the results.

Also one more question, Do anyone have recommendation for a 24v inverter?

Thanks in advance!

So first off, welcome to the forum!