diy solar

diy solar

Common Neutral Split Phase and Neutral-Ground-Bond EG4 Six Inverter Installation

As a contractor, I feel the same about all of my customers. I'm picky about the products and equipment I install for them.
I don't mind experimenting for my own personal projects. But customer warranty work costs me money, even if I'm not to blame for an issue.

As a contractor, I feel the same about all of my customers. I'm picky about the products and equipment I install for them.
I don't mind experimenting for my own personal projects. But customer warranty work costs me money, even if I'm not to blame for an issue.
Tim - that is very respectable and is why your reputation proceeds you. I run a fruit tree farm and nursery as my side fun job. I like to experiment with trees that will thrive in our local climate, so our farm is part educational too. So much of what gets sold in nurseries doesn’t do well for a number of reasons, but they don’t care as long as they make $$.

It's only an issue when in bypass mode. (Grid powering the loads, through the inverter)
And only if the inverter bonds N/G in bypass mode.

My units are currently in bypass supporting loads and charging my banks. Reminder I have NG bond screws still in both units. Load (offgrid) panel not bonded.

20221227_200033.jpg

I just checked and currently with a 2kW load in house I am seeing 0.3A flowing on my ground wire from offgrid load panel. So there is some current.

When it finishes charging my bank I will turn off the AC inputs and recheck what my grid panel normally has flowing on ground for a comparison.

My units are currently in bypass supporting loads and charging my banks. Reminder I have NG bond screws still in both units. Load (offgrid) panel not bonded.

View attachment 126637

I just checked and currently with a 2kW load in house I am seeing 0.3A flowing on my ground wire from offgrid load panel. So there is some current.