diy solar

diy solar

Complete beginner

Everything is brand new. Less than 2 weeks old. I think I'm at about the max my charge controller can handle with the 400 watt panel amp wise. I based everything on a 50% discharge rate on the batteries. It's 2 6 volt batteries to give 12 volts. I really wish I would have done a bit more research on this. But left it up to a company to piece me together a system. A buddy of mine boondocks for weeks on end with lithium? Batteries and about 200 watts of panels and he seems to do just fine. Am I missing something?

LiFePO4 batteries charge much faster than lead acid batteries. A similarly sized LiFePO4 battery can often have much more usable amp hours than a lead acid battery.

Leave it to me to be difficult ? I work shift work so when Friday evening comes around every couple weekends for me we like to pack the kids up in the SUV and drive over an hour away from home way back in the woods (25 min drive if you need something from the closest town if you forgot?) by the lake and just get away from everyday hussle and bussle. With the medically complex 20 month old the cars full just with his supplies. There's room for the cooler but the more ice and packs you bring the less room for food items. I've got just handy 3000$ into this system so far as I'm all about buying locally and helping the little guys out. I wish I would have done just a bit more research before buying. But we were all eager and over due to get away for a bit. So I'm sure you can all understand my frustration. For us dragging a generator and gas just isn't feasible with the fumes and smells involved and my littlest one. I'll try adding another 400 watt panel and a 30a charge controller and see what happens. I have a weeks vacation coming up so I'd like to have this sorted out soon. Thanks for all the help this far. I'll snap a few pictures of the setup when I'm back and hopefully others can learn from my mistakes.