diy solar

diy solar

Confused about fuses needed for 12v system

CalemChiara

Hello, I thought I’d make a post to get some help if possible.
I am new to solar and am designing a 12v system for my campervan. I plan to use the system mainly to charge my phone, iPad, juicer, and most importantly my ebike battery, which is about 1000w total, so that’s why i have a large lithium battery.

My specs so far are:
- 2 solar panels (1x160w, 1x350w), wired in parallel. About 30amps total i think.
- 40a renogy rover mppt charge controller
-1500w/3000w pure sine wave inverter
- 300ah LiFePO4 12v battery

So I am watching Will’s classic 400w 12v solar tutorial and have some questions.

In his video, he has a main fuse which is a 170amp circuit breaker, connected to his fuse block and inverter, and then he also has a bolt on 170amp fuse on his battery cord.
8E4EDDD0-6242-4685-BD1B-0BD76C6431DC.jpeg

But in his diagram, he only has 1 main fuse, which I’m guessing is a a bolt on fuse to the battery?
BB075A2B-BB8B-4E0F-BCD7-F97DAABE6363.jpeg

So, I am trying to get my head around this. So taking this image below as an example, my questions are:
1) for the ‘main fuse’, can it be a circuit breaker like the one in the first image in the red circle? (Assuming it’s the proper size for the amperage)
2) Do I need a second fuse on the positive battery cable? Say a bolt on fuse, like the one he uses in the first image in the blue circle? And if so, why do i need 2 big fuses? And what size would this fuse need to be? I thought one was enough for the invertor, does the battery need its own fuse?
3) Last noob question haha, can i copy the setup below, but instead of using a bus bar, just put all the negative leads on the negative battery pole, and skip the negative battery cable he says to connect to the bus bar?
65ED9DAB-8644-4BE4-8001-A5F4D4DA8B20.jpeg