diy solar

diy solar

Connecting a Pop Up Camper to Solar

Abstrakt51

Hi there. Super noob here to solar.

Inherited a pop up trailer and was looking to connect the existing battery to a new entry level solar panel kit purchased from Harbor Freight.

INSTALLED
- Energizer Marine E29HM - RC 210 - MCA - 840 - CCA - 675 (powers light and water pump when not plugged in).

PURCHASED
- Thunderbolt 100 watt solar panel kit
- 100w Solar charge regulator
- Thunderbolt 12 volt, 35 amp hour sealed lead battery
- 750 Watt continuous/1500 watt peak modified sine wave power inverter.

So my questions

- can I just connect the solar panel kit to the existing battery w/o issues? My goal would be just to charge it up enough so we can use lights and pump at night.
- am I able to charge both the new Thunderbolt battery in addition to the existing Energizer?
- is the inverter only to power things like cell phones, fans, small appliances? Would I need that in this setup? Is there a way to incorporate that into this setup?

Thanks for any feedback!

Hi there. Super noob here to solar.

Inherited a pop up trailer and was looking to connect the existing battery to a new entry level solar panel kit purchased from Harbor Freight.

INSTALLED
- Energizer Marine E29HM - RC 210 - MCA - 840 - CCA - 675 (powers light and water pump when not plugged in).

PURCHASED
- Thunderbolt 100 watt solar panel kit
- 100w Solar charge regulator
- Thunderbolt 12 volt, 35 amp hour sealed lead battery
- 750 Watt continuous/1500 watt peak modified sine wave power inverter.

So my questions

- (1) can I just connect the solar panel kit to the existing battery w/o issues? My goal would be just to charge it up enough so we can use lights and pump at night.
- (2) am I able to charge both the new Thunderbolt battery in addition to the existing Energizer?