diy solar

diy solar

Connecting Solar - Altenator - shore power charger to one set of batteries

ActionJackson

I am concerned about setting up three different battery chargers (Solar charger, Renogy 40amp dc to dc, and 110 to DC off-brand. All three monitor the batteries for overcharging but they are not connected and there are times where all three could be charging at the same time. Yes, I am a noob but it seems like the batteries could be overcharged in this setup. Am I overthinking this?

Yes. You are overthinking this.

Battery charging works on a constant-current to a voltage phase followed by a constant voltage phase. In the constant current phase, all chargers will push max current until they sense the absorption voltage, then they will start tapering current to hold the voltage. Each charger will respond according to battery voltage. Towards the end of the charge, it's common for the highest current charger to be the only one operating in the constant voltage phase.

Other concerns:

If FLA or AGM batteries, the max charge current should be 10-15% of the capacity (100Ah should be charged at 10A). AGM can go to 20% typically. It's important that the total sources not exceed this value in the constant current phase. Once the batteries are in the second phase of charging, it doesn't matter, because voltage is the limiting factor.

If LFP, connecting one directly to an alternator will stress the alternator because they can take whatever the alternator can deliver for an extended period of time. Alternators are not made to operate at or near 100% for extended period. There are DC-DC converters that take alternator output and supply a reduced current for charging. There are also devices that only permit charging about 50% of the time (cycles on and off about every 15 minutes).