diy solar

diy solar

converting RV to lifepo4 questions

mnman14

I'm new to the lifepo4 world and have a few questions that I'm finding conflicting information on. I found your forum via Will's YouTube videos and you seem like a knowledgeable bunch so maybe you can provide clarification.

In my RV the house battery has 3 charging sources: A PowerMax PM3 110 to 12v converter/charger, a Renogy Wanderer 30A solar charger, and the alternator on the engine. I purchased the Chins 100AH lifepo4 battery to replace the single house battery.

for the converter, my understanding is I should set it to fixed mode between 13.8 and 14.2 Volts, figured I'd just use 14.0, and the battery's internal BMS should take it from there. The chins documentation states:
The setting method of MPPT and inverter of 12.8V lithium iron phosphate battery pack is as follows:
Charging
Charging Limit Voltage: 14.2V
Over Voltage Disconnect Voltage: 14.6V
Over Voltage Reconnect Voltage: 13.8V
Float Charging Voltage: 13.8V

for the solar it seems straightforward that I just choose the lithium setting. I currently only have one portable 100w panel I put out when boondocking but I'm considering roof mounting more (especially if I have to take the alternator offline)

My big confusion is the alternator. I'll be keeping the engine battery lead acid. There is some sort of oil-pressure disconnect that isolates the two batteries when the engine isn't running but when the engine is running it does charge the house battery. There is also an emergency start solenoid that connects the two when a button on the dash is pushed. I've read some places that I should either buy a 12v to 12v charger or disconnect the charging circuit to save the alternator and battery. But others say it's fine to leave it as is and they've done so for years without problems. I'd like to understand the issues and benefits of each approach.

I appreciate your insights.