diy solar

diy solar

Cooling A Shed Studio with a 2000 BTU Server AC Unit

johnhornor

I am a newbie to solar but I'm building a studio in my back yard and I've been trying to rig it on the cheap. The problem is, I live in the American south, where it's regularly above 90º F during any month without an R and often in months with them and easily 60% humidity. A studio without some kind of AC unit would be pretty unusable. However, simply powering a 500w window AC unit with solar would entail more money than I want to put into this studio. Because I would keep some items in the studio I wouldn't want to regularly be over 100º and I want to be able to work there in the daytime occasionally, I gotta figure out this problem and don't have any real experience to draw from. So I made my way here. I've been binging Will's incredibly informative videos, bought his book (and a couple of other DIY solar books) and now I'm in the planning phase and I have to figure out if this is even feasible.

My shed will be 96 square feet, around 1100 cubic, as well insulated as possible, so I thought I might be able to make do with a smaller AC fixture than a 500w, 5000BTU window unit. In searching for smaller BTU units, I found a 2000BTU server ac. It only draws 276w. The load will entail my laptop, a few DC lights, a fan, a Bluetooth speaker in the studio.

So, I was thinking about 400 - 600w of solar panels (luckily my shed area gets around 8 hours of direct sunlight), a one or two of the cheaper $600 lithium iron phosphate 100wh batteries, and a 2000/4000w inverter. It's this even feasible?

Anyway, I'd love any sort of feedback or suggestions. As I said, I'm an absolute newb.

Thanks for your time and consideration, in advance.

Last edited:
Will you be working standing or sitting?
Would be best if you could work lying down.
Face down is even better.
An air conditioner attempts to fill the space from the bottom up with cool air.