diy solar

diy solar

COVID Greetings (And Help with RV Solar Setup?)

nktio

Hello!

Hope everyone is hanging in fine with the pandemic. It's a good time for DIY projects, at the least.

I'm a starving artist in Portland, OR living full time in a 25ft class A RV (1981 Holiday Rambler Imperial, nearly identical to the model doing car stunts in the Kenny Rogers movie 6 Pack:
). I've been living in it for about 2.5 years, renting space and hooked up to shore power, but my intention from the start has been to upgrade it to an off-grid roving mini-home. However, I haven't had the extra funds to make any substantial effort towards that, so I've just been researching and thinking about the logistics off and on.

58870219_10157060797555561_7324816867900522496_o.jpg
(My camper. The current location gets much more sun on the roof).

But now that the COVID-19 crisis has shaken things up, I find myself temporarily unemployed and taking care of my mom who was diagnosed with cancer right before the pandemic ramped up (yeesh). I've got extra time on my hands, no rent to pay, and that sweet sweet CARES Act $$$ coming in (eventually?), so I figure now's as good a time as any to make the initial push towards the off-grid dream camper. Keeps me occupied and optimistic, too. Been watching a lot of Will Prowse's videos and others to figure out what I need. Altogether I'm hoping to have a 12V starting system for less than $1000.

So far I've ordered a 200 watt mono panel (intend to get at least one more): https://www.ebay.com/itm/Kosta-200W-200-Watts-Solar-Panel-12-Volts-Battery-Monocrystalline-Charger-Marine/

This EPEVER MPPT 30a charge controller (appealing for the li-ion charging and custom charge settings up to 17V): https://www.ebay.com/itm/313042542593

And I'm eyeing this 1500 watt inverter (appealing for the 16v and 10v cuttoff range, since I'm looking into Li-NMC batteries):