diy solar

diy solar

Crestone Colorado system upgrade help!

Zybane

Hello, I'm new to the off-grid PV/battery arena. I purchased a seasonal off-grid home that has enough power for three seasons but not for winter. I'd like to find a reasonable upgrade path and if anyone would provide assistance or thoughts that would be great!

My current setup:.
1. 10x 140w BP Solar Panels:

2. Outback FLEXmax 60 Solar Charge Controller (mine is an early version from over 15 years ago): https://www.outbackpower.com/downlo...controllers/flexmax_6080/fm6080_datasheet.pdf

3. Xantrex Trace 24v Inverter/Charger:

4. 12x Surrette Rolls S6 L16-HC (S-550) 445Ah 6V Deep Cycle Batteries:

Some pictures of my setup are attached.

All of the equipment is between 15 and 18 years old besides the batteries which are just over 2 years old. From my understanding, at that time, this was higher end equipment. On a full sun summer day, even with such old panels, I can get just over 1400w input from the solar panels as shown on the Outback solar charge controller display. I thought that was pretty impressive for the age of the equipment. By my calculations; I have about 32kWh of battery storage.

I was thinking of buying four more identical batteries to make a bank of 16. If I kept the 24v inverter, I would just put the four new ones in the space in the battery box picture where the water bottles are and connect them in parallel. My max AMP draw would be around 100, or about 2,400 watts which from my understanding is my current setups limits (and basically any proper 24v system?).

It looks like my Outback is almost maxed out (1,400w PV input and 1,500w rated max at 24v). So from my understanding, if I increase the battery bank, I could keep all the other components the same, but I really feel 1,400w PV input, especially on short winter days for a 42kWh battery bank is WOEFULLY undersized. Thoughts?

So that leads me to increasing my solar array. I have two options: