custom made battery box for eve LF280K cells

Sanwizard

Photon Sorcerer
Joined
Feb 2, 2021
Messages
1,866
looks like the bms froze up.

did you try and disconnect it fully from balance, battery and inverter.. sort of a hard reset ?
Also check the fuse. You can charge the cells on the back side of the bms till the volts get to over 48, to see if that helps. Also check each cell individually to make sure they are similar in volts across all 16.
 

GummiSolar

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2022
Messages
8
Also check the fuse. You can charge the cells on the back side of the bms till the volts get to over 48, to see if that helps. Also check each cell individually to make sure they are similar in volts across all 16.
I did check the fuse and it is okay. I charged up the battery on the backside to 100% SOC. I thought that once it was charged that it would override the undervoltage protection. No Luck.
 

Sanwizard

Photon Sorcerer
Joined
Feb 2, 2021
Messages
1,866
I did check the fuse and it is okay. I charged up the battery on the backside to 100% SOC. I thought that once it was charged that it would override the undervoltage protection. No Luck.
Interesting. My undervoltage alarm was also on, but it let me charge it up. Are you able to connect via PC?
 

Sanwizard

Photon Sorcerer
Joined
Feb 2, 2021
Messages
1,866
No, Once the BMS stopped working I was not able to connect by PC anymore.
The new E versions are nicer than the C or D versions. Maybe time to buy a replacement if Seplos does not provide one for you. I have no idea what their warranty is, if any.
 

danmc

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 27, 2022
Messages
83
I finally got around to building my Mason using the EVE cells with the new double terminals. As I suspected the busbar won't reach to connect the two rows. I'm debating what the best way to bridge it will be? Making my own busbar would be favourite, but I'm not sure where to buy tinned copper plate in the UK? Plan B and likely the easiest method would be to make my own flexible busbar, would 70mm cable be thick enough? 95mm?

Has anyone else had and overcome this problem?
 

danmc

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 27, 2022
Messages
83
Try searching Amazon for "tinned copper bar", only place I could find to easily buy it when I needed some, although it will take two weeks or so to arrive - mine arrived quicker than expected though.

Cheers, I think this is likely favourite. HeHaoo Plated Copper Flat bar Copper busbar

The provided EVE busbars are also 20mm wide and 2mm thick, although they are fixed in two places and are bridging a shorter distance. Maybe 3mm is the way to go? Think I'll do some more reading before I pull the trigger.
 

Sanwizard

Photon Sorcerer
Joined
Feb 2, 2021
Messages
1,866
I finally got around to building my Mason using the EVE cells with the new double terminals. As I suspected the busbar won't reach to connect the two rows. I'm debating what the best way to bridge it will be? Making my own busbar would be favourite, but I'm not sure where to buy tinned copper plate in the UK? Plan B and likely the easiest method would be to make my own flexible busbar, would 70mm cable be thick enough? 95mm?

Has anyone else had and overcome this problem?
Call Seplos. I have 3 of the Mason 280ah kits. They sent me out 3 Aluminum busbars (one for each kit)that reach fine.
I would rather they sent tinned copper, but they seem to be using Aluminum in their kits. The 135ah kits use flexible copper though, so go figure.
 

danmc

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 27, 2022
Messages
83
Call Seplos. I have 3 of the Mason 280ah kits. They sent me out 3 Aluminum busbars (one for each kit)that reach fine.
I would rather they sent tinned copper, but they seem to be using Aluminum in their kits. The 135ah kits use flexible copper though, so go figure.

Cheers, but I've already bought the bar now. Plus as you say I'd prefer tin coated copper than aluminium. The busbars Seplos sent didn't seem very good quality at all.

3 Week wait now. I can top balance my cells now I suppose.
 

GummiSolar

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2022
Messages
8
I need help, I have a Mason box too. I was completing the first discharge after bringing the battery up to 100%SOC. At one point the BMS just shut down (I assume that the undervoltage protection kicked in) now I can not get the BMS to turn on.

To bring the SOC back to 100% I had to charge the battery using my hobby chargers because the Inverter would not push a load through to the BMS to the batteries.

Also there is no voltage at the terminals, but there is a full charge at the maain battery terminals, so in the picture I have full voltage on the right side (the battery side of the Mosfets but zero voltage on the left.) Any help would be great!View attachment 130996.
It was a firmware update. I installed the new firmware and the problem was solved. It took a half hour of troubleshooting with a Seplos tech and he figured it out!
 
Top