diy solar

diy solar

DC breaker question

tk7223

I have decided to place an additional layer of protection between my Ecoflow Powerkit and my solar panel array. To ensure that no more than 150v/15a(breaker rating) get to my powerhub I am going to put the breaker next to the powerhub between it and my solar disconnect switch. I am very new to this type of wiring. The breaker only has a positive set of terminals, and I understand that the breaker is polarity sensitive....am I correct that I only need one breaker for the positive line and that the negative line needs no breaker?

I have decided to place an additional layer of protection between my Ecoflow Powerkit and my solar panel array. To ensure that no more than 150v/15a(breaker rating) get to my powerhub I am going to put the breaker next to the powerhub between it and my solar disconnect switch. I am very new to this type of wiring. The breaker only has a positive set of terminals, and I understand that the breaker is polarity sensitive....am I correct that I only need one breaker for the positive line and that the negative line needs no breaker?
In short it won’t work. Your controller will not take more amps that it is rated for and so the breaker won’t trip unless you undersized it for less than your unit can handle also the breaker won’t trip for voltage and so you get no protection that way either. It is a good Idea to have a switch to turn off the array so that you don’t damage the connections from arcing when unplugged live but that should be an oversized double pole breaker or switch rated over the max VOC of your array. It needs to be double pole to avoid back feeding.

It needs to be double pole to avoid back feeding.
I don't understand this. I've only used single pole on the positive to disconnect the array from the charge controller for "maintenance". on the charge controller. I've also seen others only use single pole. Why the double pole?