diy solar

diy solar

DC sump pump?

kanelr

can I run two 12v DC sump pumps in series on a good 24v system? may be simplest way.....? two pumps will fit in most crocks.

I don't really know, but I would not think it would work very well. A lot of it depends on the type of DC motor

can I run two 12v DC sump pumps in series on a good 24v system? may be simplest way.....? two pumps will fit in most crocks.
Play around with Ohm's law and see what it says.

Why not just get a 24v pump?

As long as all works forever then all is fine. If something happens to one then good chance of losing both.
Besides most of these 12v pumps seem kinda weak..... unless that is all that is needed.

I don't think this is the best or the most efficient way to obtain a good system of 24v. However, I'm not a professional, and I can't assure you that I am right. You can try to contact companies like https://www.sumppumpadvisor.com that are more informed in this domain and can provide you with a real solution. I've been collaborating with them for the past years, and they were always extremely helpful. On top of that, they have on their website a ton of useful information and even the type of models described with details to help you make the best decision.

Last edited:
What turns them on and off? If it is a float switch, the switch on both will have to be "on" at the same time for them to turn on. If one switch were to somehow fail, the other pump would be off as well. Two pumps in series will double the chance of a failure event.

How would a backup for the sump pump work on solar? Would a battery, solar panel and inverter and charge controller work and is it that simple? Also what wattage inverter and controller would I need for this? Current pump plugged into a dedicate outlet with it's own trip breaker. Thanks.