diy solar

diy solar

Dead Duck Battery?

jesfl

From what I've found and read on this Forum, the only solution to attempt to make this battery functional again is to charge/discharge the two low/high cells independently? Is that correct? Any other possible tricks or techniques?

Please see screenshots below of the BMS app's main screen: (1) while charging, and (2) after BMS/charger shutoff after hitting the max 3.65 volts point on cell #4. Also shots of the battery with part of the case and shrinkwrap cover removed from top and BMS side.

This is the third of three batteries that died last year. With incredibly patient guidance for this newbie here at the Forum, I learned the BMS failed, not the cells. Three new (JD?) BMS are now connected on all three sets of cells. The first two recharged and balanced fine, seemingly. The last pack (#3 shown here) will only charge cell #3 to about 2.6 volts because then cell #4 hits the max 3.65 volts and the BMS shuts off the charger.

I have no idea what type of cells are in these (cheap) Chinese cell packs? I got brave enough to open up the outer shrinkwrap cover to find the failed BMS, clean up the connections, and connect the new BMS. (See photo below.) From there, whatever is inside the bolted-together covering is unknown to me. And, at my low skill level, I have no desire to unbolt and open it further . . . in order to figure out what is what and attempt to charge/balance different cell packs manually.

So, if there is a trick or two for evenly charging these cells as is -- without breaking apart the case further -- I'll give those a try.

Otherwise, this cell pack is going into the trash. Exactly how does one properly dispose of a 46-pound LiFePO4 cell pack?

Thanks for any ideas.

jesfl

Attachments

• Battery #3 Charging + Load Connected.png
    Battery #3 Charging + Load Connected.png
    321.5 KB · Views: 13
  • Battery #3 after charger cutoff.png
    Battery #3 after charger cutoff.png
    315.3 KB · Views: 17