diy solar

diy solar

Delta Pro / Smart Home Panel / Charging

GrtLks

Hello all from a newbie, both to solar/batteries AND to this site. I live in NE Ohio and decided I'd like emergency power backup in the event of power outages. I've also been intrigued by solar and whole home batteries for several years. I'll think about the solar aspect later but my home and lot are not very conducive to solar so for now it's all about battery backup. I have no electrical training/experience, so take it easy on me please!

I've purchased two Ecoflow Delta Pros and two Delta Pro Extra Batteries plus an Ecoflow Smart Home Panel (SHP). I'd like to backup the gas furnace, Internet modem and router, kitchen fridge, basement chest freezer, and a few other circuits so we can make it through (hopefully) one-to-two days on the 14KWh we'll have available, although I'm thinking of buying the extra two batteries to provide 21KWh through the system. The batteries have arrived and I'm getting familiar with them while I wait on the SHP (and accessories) to arrive. I'll need to find an electrician to install the SHP, so any leads are appreciated.

To backup the backup, I also bought a 3,000W (continuous) inverter generator, thinking I could charge from A/C port to A/C charging port to recharge the batteries to extend our grid-down backup time. However, EcoFlow advises that AC charging through the rear charging port is not accessible when the Delta Pros are plugged into the SHP. So, to extend battery backup time, I think that I can unplug one Delta Pro from the SHP at a time to charge from the generator, leaving the other to carry the load. However, I've also read about other users adding non-Ecoflow batteries to charge the Delta Pros through the DC XT60 port. The idea of being able to charge the Delta Pros this way, while they remain plugged into the SHP, sounds appealing. I'll pursue solar potential later on, but all of this is outside of any solar potential.