diy solar

diy solar

Designing Victron System for Keystone RV Travel Trailer

SendIt

Hey everyone, happy Thanksgiving! This is my first post on the forum -- found it after watching some of Will's videos. I'm a Mechanical Engineer who changed careers to software development so that I could work remote. I've done a decent amount of industrial automation and microcontroller work in previous positions.

I recently purchased a Keystone Springdale travel trailer that I plan on doing some extended off-grid living/working in with my wife. It has a WFCO power distribution system with a built-in 12V converter, 120V breaker panel, and 12V fuse panel. It accepts power from a 30A Shore power hookup and from the aux input on the trailer hitch. The battery is crap and barely holds a charge.

My plan is to add a large DIY LiFePo4 battery and equipment to charge it from shore power and eventually solar. We will plan on charging off a generator a few hours/day until we eventually install solar panels.

Requirements​

I'd like to build out a 48V DIY battery with 16 x 100ah cells and an overkill solar BMS and I'm trying to decide what components to add which can:
  • invert 48V to 120V
  • convert 48V to 12V
  • charge the LiFePo4 from the shore hookup
  • disconnect automatically when the cells are low or it's too cold
  • Eventually charge from solar.

Loads​

The loads I'm working with are relatively small. AC Loads (two people working remote):
  • Starlink, 2 laptops, and a monitor 8-9 hours/day
12V loads (a 26' keystone RV with two people inside):
  • Lights
  • Awning
  • Propane Furnace Fan
  • Propane water heater
  • water pump

Initial Design​