diy solar

diy solar

Developing first off-grid/emergency solar system

jediaelthewise

Greetings,

I am a bit new to the solar power world here but I am picking things up pretty quickly. I am working on brainstorming a backup/emergency power system to build into my Chevy Express 2500 van that can be used both for off grid power and essentially treat my van as an emergency 'generator' for my house in a no power situation.

Here are the needs/requirements I am aiming for:
1. Capable of powering something as large as a home refrigerator
2. Capable of handling an output peak load for larger appliances such as a blender, drill, or microwave (intermittant use)
3. Solar panels mounted in top of van (limited space)
4. Expandable - I know that I may not be able to afford or get the ideal end system all at once but if I can start as a smaller system and scale up that would be ideal
5. Alternator powered - I would like my van running to also be able to charge the system. If it is possible to send power in reverse to jumps tart my own van battery that would be even better.

I am considering the following setup, but am open to suggestions:

1. Solar Panels - Renolgy Eclipse Panels - I have read these are a bit more efficient but I am open to suggestions if the difference is marginal. These will be mounted on the top of my van. I can likely fit at most 4-6 on top.
2. Mounting - I will need good suggestions here on how I could mount these, if I should consider angling options, and also road/weather safety
3. Battery - There are a number of options I am considering here. I know that LiFePO4 batteries are more expensive up front but last longer. I may go with a Renolgy gel hybrid to start for budget constraints then upgrade later. (I also know not to mix them down the line so I will repurpose the gel into a seperate system later if I upgrade)