diy solar

diy solar

Developing Software

erik.calco

Solar Badger
I've been programming my whole life, and integrate it into other professions and hobbies (e.g., I'm a trader in equities and futures markets, so I created a trading system.) Anyone else like to write code or create apps, systems, middleware, IoT, etc,...?

@CheezWiz You ever think about writing code related to solar?

It is something I'd like to explore at some point. I created a cloud data collection service in 2017 ideal for IoTs (microservice using Java and CrateDB), but haven't put it online, yet. I'd like to standardize data collection for solar, and have one universal way to build the ultimate UI for it.

My priority right now is getting a new trading system online. It will be FREE!

Last edited:
I actually made it to my Senior year in Computer Science focusing on scientific applications but then life got in the way. I went back later and did a multidisciplinary studies degree combining my CSc course work with Organizational management for an IT Management degree. I loved C and C++ and assembly the most. I also have an associate's degree in electrical engineering with a focus on microprocessor design. I always wanted to be artistic but never had any talent. Then one of my programming professors told me my code was the most artistic he had encountered and I realized I did have a creative outlet. But again life got in the way. My only programming now is Windows shell and some power shell. I manage our OS and application packaging and deployment via SCCM, as well as AD group policy and PowerBroker implementation. I'm also a lab manager for the PC side of the house at a higher ed institution.
But yes, I'm constantly thinking about leveraging an Arduino or Raspberry Pi against some solar stuff. Lol I have way too may 1/10th. finished projects in my life!

I loved C and C++ and assembly the most.

You recapped the 80s for me lol....

BASIC.... then C, then machine code, then Assembly, then C++...