diy solar

diy solar

did i fry my solar panel while testing it?

hickman

hi all, i just bought a new rena solar 250 watt pannel installed it on my van and thought i would test the voltage and apms with my multi meter it i got a reading of 32.8 volts and when i went to test the amp i got a reading for a split second and then nothing. im hoping i didnt have my multimeter set wrong and fry my panel. i connected it to my mppt charge controller and it says its charging the batteries. did i fry my panel?

What is the panels short circuit amps?
You probably fried your multimeter amps reading. I think only good for 10A?

thanks for your reply . im not very good at electrical stuff. it says the the short cirut amps are 8.83A im hoping i didnt fry a new panel, the wife will kill me.

not sure what the multi meter is good to, im not even sure i had it set right , i was going off of some youtube vids on checking a panel

Don't feel bad. I did the same thing. I knew my string of panels put out 7A and my meter was good for 10A, but I forgot it had charged a large capacitor in the inverter. I measured the discharge current from a large electrolytic capacitor charged to 480V. Good thing my Fluke meter has a high quality 11A fuse.

Your meter probably had a small fuse that blew. It probably still reads volts OK. If charge controller says you're getting current the panel is working.

Your wife cares about a solar panel? Where can we find one like that? Or is it just the money? Mine has no idea how much I have spent. We generally deal in very different numbers of zeros.

You can't damage a panel by shorting the leads. There is an almost 100% chance that you just blew the fuse in the meter.
well the meter stil works it gives me a reading for my volts but noting on the amps