diy solar

diy solar

DIY Arduino controlled charger v1

Cdvan

After some research on DIY arduino controlled chargers on the internet I could not find something that included what I had in mind. While visiting one of my friends he mentioned that he did a few DIY arduino based projects and will assist in trying to put something together. My idea is to use relays to control the load and AC to DC charger based on voltage readings( & settings), temperature readings for battery as well as temperature readings for the enclosure in which the setup is homed (environment temp). The aim is to use a laptop type charger and based on voltage readings, determine charge and discharged settings to maintain SOC levels between 10%-90%. I'm first to acknowledge that I'm a novice to this field and in the file attached I tried to put my logic on paper to demonstrate the functionality. I will appreciate any constructive comments or suggestions and/or possible challenges and issues that this logic might cause down the line. Thank you.

Attachments

• Charger Logic v1.jpg
    Charger Logic v1.jpg
    116.4 KB · Views: 20
I'm also starting an Arduino based charge controller project.

Last edited:
Nice. Will definitely look to incorporate it if I can get a prototype working.

dear @Cdvan, cool project idea, i think you can go far with it! yea!!!

nice flow chart of charger function ?

after seeing your flowchart, one situation i could see a problem potentially arising (hehe potential because voltage) is if the battery becomes very deeply discharged and the system wakes up when AC power is supplied for the first time after long sleep.